EXPRESSIONS IN CONTEXT – ASKING & GIVING OPINIONS/REASONS, AGREEING & DISAGREEING

Published April 8, 2012 by ourenglishzone7

ASKING FOR OPINIONS What do you think of the job?What do you think of  Taylor Swift?

How do you like Bali?

Giving opinion I think….In my opinion….

I believe that….

Giving positive opinions

I think it’s interesting/ I like it alot.

I think Taylor Swift is a great singer/ Oh, I like her alot.

Oh, I like Bali very much. It’s a beautiful island.

Giving negative opinions

I think it’s boring/ I don’t like it very much.

I’m not keen on Taylor/ I don’t like her very much.

I don’t like Bali very much. It’s too crowded.

Giving reasons I like the job because it’s challengingI don’t like Taylor Swift beacause her record is terrible.
Agreeing  I agree (with you)You’re right.

That’s true.

I think so.

Exactly.

Disagreeing I don’t agree (with you)I disagree.

I don’t think so.

I don’t think that’s true.

I don’t think you’re right.

I’m sorry but I think you’re wrong.

I know what you mean, but….

You may be right but,….

A. Listening

Patrick and Anna have been to the cinema. Listen to their conversation and complete the blank spaces!

Patrick       :  How did you like the (1)………?

Anna          :  It’s exciting. I like the (2)………especially Leonardo Di Caprio. I like him

very much.

Patrick         :  oh, I don’t. I like the plot of the story. I think I want to be a (3)………when I’ve finished (4)………

Anna           :  You must be kidding me! You always (5) ……………about our writing assignments.

Patrick         :  In a way I do. But, actually I (6) ……… writing. Not academic writing, of course.

Anna           :  Anyway, what makes you interested in story writing?

Patrick         :  In (7)…………, story writing is rewarding because we can (8) ………people with our stories.  What do you think?

Anna           :  I see what you mean but writing is (9)………….especially when you have no ideas to be put down.  I prefer to be a movie star.

Patrick         : Really? Why?

Anna           :  Simply because I like being (10)…….

Patrick         :  I can’t believe what you’re saying! Do you (11) ………… the consequence? You’ll have no privacy. People will always make a fuss about it.

Anna           :  I know and I’m okay with that.

Patrick         :  Are you sure? Someday you’ll probably (12) …………your mind.

Anna           :  I don’t think (13)………. Who knows I’ll be the (14)……… in one of your stories.

Patrick         :  Whatever.

Answer the questions about Patrick and Anna!

  1. What does Patrick want to be when he’s finished school?
  2. What does Anna think about the story?
  3. Who likes popularity?
  4. Does Patrick like popularity? Why or why not?

Listen to these dialogues and complete the checklist with the information from the dialogues!

Dialogue 1: Ben is a reporter for his school magazine “Buana”. He’s interviewing Sarah, Tom and Chris.

Topic

Agree

Disagree

Reasons

Sarah

Tom

Trans Jakarta Bus causes traffic jam

Chris

Dialogue 2: Now Ben is interviewing other students (Tony, Grace and Edwin) about learning English language in an English-speaking country.

Topic

Agree

Disagree

Reasons

Edwin

Grace

Tony

It makes our English more fluent.

Listen to these opinions and give your statements whether you are agree or not!

Example:

You hear          : Holidays are a waste of money

Your answer    :I agree. Better we save the money     or    I don’t agree. Holidays are relaxing after long school hours.

  1. ……………………………

Your answer    :

  1. ……………………………………

Your answer    :

  1. ……………………………………

Your answer    :

  1. ……………………………………

Your answer    :

  1. ……………………………………

Your answer    :

  1. ……………………………………

Your answer    :

  1. ……………………………………

Your answer    :

B.      Speaking

Work in a group of three or four try to complete these dialogues!

  1. Noni    : Bali is beautiful, isn’t it?

Merry   : ………………..

  1. Heidy   : Do you think it is a good idea to give him a toy car?

Lisa      : ……………………..

  1. Yehuda:  we feel tired, let’s take a rest.

Indra    : …………………… ..

  1. Rudi     : The bag is nice. I think the quality is good.

Fena     :  ……………………..

  1. Thomas:  Today is a nice day isn’t it? How about going to the beach?

Bram    : ……………………..

Make some dialogs based on the situation given!

  1. You agree to your friends opinion that gas stove is more practical than a traditional stove.

You                 : ………………….

Your partner    : ………………….

  1. You don’t agree to your brother’s idea or going camping next week.

You                 : ………………….

Your partner    : ………………….

  1. You need your brother to help you do your homework

You                 : ………………….

Your partner    : ………………….

  1. You ask your friend to company  you to go to the mall

You                 : ………………….

Your partner    : ………………….

  1. Your sister wants to borrow your novel.

You                 : ………………….

Your partner    : ………………….

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

